The Yukon Prize for Visual Arts

Recognizing excellence in visual arts

Yukon Prize 2023 Longlist


Yukon Prize Longlist, 2023

The Yukon Prize is pleased to share the 2023 Yukon Prize Longlist. We look forward to sharing more about the longlisted artists as well as the annoucement of the shortlist in June.

Our deepest gratitude to all artist who took the time and made the effort to apply.

Justin Apperley
Kaylyn Baker
Jeffrey Langille
Robyn McLeod
Meshell Melvin
Rebekah Miller
Jackie Olson
Cole Pauls
Nicole Rayburn
Omar Reyna
Rosemary Scanlon
Alainnah Whachell

Find out more info about each artist »

2023 Yukon Prize Jurors Announced!

The Yukon Prize Committee is  pleased to announce the jurors for the 2023 Yukon Prize:

Heather Igloliorte

Dr. Heather Igloliorte (Inuk-Newfoundlander, Nunatsiavut), is the University Research Chair in Circumpolar Indigenous Arts at Concordia University in Tiohtiá:ke/ Montreal, where she leads the Inuit Futures in Arts Leadership SSHRC Partnership Grant and Co-Directs the Indigenous Futures Research Centre. Igloliorte has been a curator for seventeen years; among many projects, she is the lead guest curator for INUA, the inaugural exhibition of the new Inuit art centre, Qaumajuq, in Winnipeg.  Igloliorte also serves as the Co-Chair of the Indigenous Circle for the Winnipeg Art Gallery; is President of the Board of the Inuit Art Foundation; and sits on the Faculty Council of the Otsego Institute for Native American Art History at the Fenimore Art Museum in Cooperstown, New York

Michelle Jacques

Michelle Jacques is a curator, educator, and cultural worker. She is currently the Head of Exhibitions and Collections/Chief Curator at Remai Modern, which is situated on Treaty 6 Territory and the Homeland of Métis, in the city also known as Saskatoon. Prior to moving to the Prairies, she was the Chief Curator at the Art Gallery of Greater Victoria in British Columbia for 8 years; before that, she held curatorial positions in the contemporary and Canadian departments at the Art Gallery of Ontario, Toronto. Her long-term commitment is to growing the relevance of visual art museums, but she has also worked as the Director of Programming at the Centre for Art Tapes, an artist-run centre in Halifax, Nova Scotia, and taught writing, art history and curatorial studies at NSCAD University, the University of Toronto Mississauga, and OCAD University.

Sarah Milroy

Sarah Milroy is the chief curator of the McMichael Canadian Art Collection in Kleinburg, Ontario. She has curated or co-curated major exhibitions on Emily Carr, David Milne, Lionel LeMoine FitzGerald, Denyse Thomasos, Dempsey Bob, Gathie Falk, and Wanda Koop. Milroy previously served as art critic of the Globe and Mail (2001 to 2011), and as editor and publisher of Canadian Art (1991 to 1996).

Significant dates for Yukon Prize 2023 can be found on the About page. Applications for the 2023 Yukon Prize are now closed.

The Rules for the 2023 Yukon Prize can be found on the Rules page. Some frequently asked questions and a summary of the rules can be found on the application page.

2021 Recipient of the Yukon Prize Yukon Prize icon Joseph Tisiga